Organization of Scientific Area Committees

With the announcement on October 29, 2014 of the 402 forensic scientists appointed to the 23 OSAC sub-committees, there are now 521 members in the OSAC. This completes the initial appointments with the exception of the sub-committee on Digital Evidence that will be appointed in November.

SOFT is very well represented in the OSAC. In fact, SOFT members will be participating at every level of the OSAC. Information and a graphical depiction of the OSAC structure as well as up-to-date information on OSAC activities are available here:

The SOFT Board of Directors supports this effort and anticipates that this group will continue the excellent work done by SWGTOX.

SOFT members that have been appointed to the OSAC project and the level at which they will serve:

Forensic Science Standards Board

Professional association representatives

  • Laurel Farrell, Society of Forensic Toxicologists, director and past president; American Society of Crime Laboratory Directors/Laboratory Accreditation Program Manager – Calibration
  • Barry Logan, Ph.D., American Academy of Forensic Sciences, past president; NMS Labs, vice president of Forensic Science Initiatives and chief of Forensic Toxicology

Research representative:

  • Sarah Kerrigan, Ph.D., Forensic Science Department chair, Sam Houston State University

Chemistry/Instrumental Analysis Scientific Area Committee (SAC)

  • Marc LeBeau, Ph.D., U.S. Federal Bureau of Investigation, Chair of the OSAC Toxicology Subcommittee
  • Jeri Ropero-Miller, Ph.D., RTI International

Subcommittee on Toxicology, Marc LeBeau, Ph.D., Subcommittee Chair
(Note: all members of this sub-committee with the exception of the statistician are SOFT members!)

  • Dan Anderson, Los Angeles Department of Coroner
  • Sabra Botch-Jones, fTox Consulting, LLC
  • Nichole Bynum, RTI International
  • Fiona Couper, Ph.D., Washington State Patrol
  • Kenneth Emil Ferslew, Ph.D., East Tennessee State University
  • Marilyn Huestis, Ph.D., U.S. National Institute on Drug Abuse
  • Robert Johnson, Ph.D., Tarrant County (Texas) Medical Examiner's Office
  • Matthew Juhascik, Ph.D., Montgomery County (Ohio) Coroner's Office
  • Philip Kemp, Ph.D., U.S. Federal Aviation Administration
  • Melissa Kennedy, Virginia Department of Forensic Science
  • Jennifer Limoges, New York State Police
  • Robert Middleberg, Ph.D., NMS Labs
  • Madeline Montgomery, U.S. Federal Bureau of Investigation Laboratory
  • Christine Moore, Ph.D., Immunalysis Corporation
  • Suman Rana, Ph.D., Redwood Toxicology Laboratory
  • Robert Sears, South Carolina Law Enforcement Division
  • Ruth Ellen Winecker, Ph.D., North Carolina Office of the Chief Medical Examiner
  • Dustin Tate Yeatman, Palm Beach County (Florida) Sheriff's Office Crime Laboratory

Subcommittee on Controlled Substances

  • Thomas Brettell, Ph.D., Cedar Crest College, Allentown, Pa.
  • Thomas Joseph Gluodenis, Jr., Ph.D., Agilent Technologies
  • Elzbeta "Ella" Kubicz, Ph.D., Wyoming State Crime Laboratory
  • Sandra Sachs, Ph.D., Oakland (California) Police Department Criminalistics Laboratory